1st Optimal vs Ulo: Which TRT Clinic Is Better in 2026?
Summarize this page with
Short answer
1st Optimal wins overall, scoring 8.1/10 vs 7.8/10, mainly on clinical oversight and transparency. If price is your priority, Ulo is cheaper at $159/mo regular price, no long-term contract.
1st Optimal wins overall, scoring 8.1/10 vs 7.8/10. If price is your priority, Ulo is cheaper at $159/mo regular price, no long-term contract.
Maps your hormones within metabolic, thyroid and lifestyle context. Thorough, with higher upfront labs.
from $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly
Visit 1st OptimalAll-inclusive TRT at $159/mo with a choice of injection, topical or oral.
from $159/mo regular price, no long-term contract
Visit Ulo1st Optimal vs Ulo, side by side
| Feature | 1st Optimal | Ulo |
|---|---|---|
| Our score | 8.1/10 | 7.8/10 |
| Starting price | $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly | $159/mo regular price, no long-term contract |
| Treatment types | injections, peptides, comprehensive labs | injections, cream, oral |
| Best for | Best for Comprehensive Labs | Best Full-Service |
| Overall ranking | #2 | #6 |
| Price & Value (25%) | 7.5 | 7.5 |
| Clinical Oversight (25%) | 8.5 | 7.5 |
| Treatment Options (20%) | 8.0 | 8.0 |
| User Experience (15%) | 8.0 | 8.0 |
| Transparency (15%) | 8.5 | 8.0 |
Sources: 1st Optimal pricing verified on 1stoptimal.com, Ulo pricing verified on ulo.co
1st Optimal vs Ulo: plans, price and what's included
Without committing, Ulo costs $120 less than 1st Optimal over 12 months ($1,908 against $2,028), and $10 less in the first month. Both offer injections. Only 1st Optimal lists peptides and comprehensive labs; only Ulo lists cream and oral.
| 1st Optimal | Ulo | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | from $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly | from $159/mo regular price, no long-term contract |
| Plans it publishes | One published rate | One published rate |
| Commitment | 120-day minimum, billed monthly. (1stoptimal.com, read Oct 14, 2026) | No long-term contract or cancellation fee; 12-month plans are sold at a discount. (ulo.co, read Oct 14, 2026) |
| Labs | Not stated by the clinic (1stoptimal.com, read Sep 11, 2026) | Initial and follow-up labs included (ulo.co, read Sep 11, 2026) |
| What the price covers | Rate holds? Not stated | Rate holds? Not stated |
| First month | $169 | $159 |
| 12 months, no commitment | $2,028 | $1,908 |
| Cancelling | After 120 days, submit the membership change request form at least 7 days before the next billing date. Prescribed treatments and telemedicine services are not refunded. (1stoptimal.com, read Oct 14, 2026) | Pause or cancel at any time. Prescriptions go to processing immediately, so an order cannot be cancelled before it ships. Returns within 30 days of delivery are refunded for that month's product only. (ulo.co, read Oct 14, 2026) |
| Formats | injections, peptides, comprehensive labs | injections, cream, oral |
| States served | State list not on file | 50 of 51 (not confirmed: DC) (ulo.co, read Oct 9, 2026) |
First-month and 12-month figures come from our 12-month cost model, at each clinic's no-commitment rate. “About per year” for a prepaid plan is our arithmetic on the billing cycle the clinic prints.
Who should pick which
Pick 1st Optimal if
- you want peptides or comprehensive labs, which Ulo does not list
Pick Ulo if
- you want the lower 12-month cost without committing: about $1,908 against $2,028 for 1st Optimal, on our cost model
- you want cream or oral, which 1st Optimal does not list
- you want every lab panel inside the price
- you want no commitment
Pros & cons
1st Optimal
Pros
- + Deep, context-rich lab work
- + Metabolic & thyroid screening
- + Peptide options available
Cons
- No criterion where it scores below Ulo, and no state restrictions.
Ulo
Pros
- + Full-service, accessible model
- + Clear upfront subscription
- + Streamlined onboarding
Cons
- − Weaker on Clinical Oversight (7.5 vs 8.5/10)
- − Weaker on Transparency (8.0 vs 8.5/10)
The bottom line
After scoring all 39 clinics on our 5-criterion rubric (price & value, clinical oversight, treatment options, user experience and transparency), 1st Optimal (8.1/10) comes out ahead of Ulo (7.8/10). But the right choice still depends on what matters most to you.
Choose 1st Optimal if you want best for comprehensive labs. From $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly.
Visit 1st Optimal →Choose Ulo if you want best full-service. From $159/mo regular price, no long-term contract.
Visit Ulo →Editor's overall pick
Not sold on either? Our highest-rated clinic overall is Male Excel (8.1/10), from $99/mo membership; medication billed on top. Read the review →
Ready to start TRT?
Our verdict for this matchup is 1st Optimal.
Related comparisons
Top picks
We email you when a price we track changes.
No spam, no daily digest. Just the clinics you're comparing, when their verified price moves.
How we score: every clinic is rated on five weighted criteria from documented evidence. Prices are checked weekly by an automated job against each clinic's live page; a price unconfirmed for 45 days is automatically relabeled “Last confirmed” instead of “Verified.” Scores are never influenced by affiliate commissions. “Visit” buttons are affiliate links that support our work. Educational information only. Not medical advice.