1st Optimal vs Hims: Which TRT Clinic Is Better in 2026?
Summarize this page with
Short answer
1st Optimal wins overall, scoring 8.1/10 vs 6.1/10, mainly on transparency and user experience. If price is your priority, Hims is cheaper at $99/mo on a 10-month plan paid upfront.
1st Optimal wins overall, scoring 8.1/10 vs 6.1/10. If price is your priority, Hims is cheaper at $99/mo on a 10-month plan paid upfront.
Maps your hormones within metabolic, thyroid and lifestyle context. Thorough, with higher upfront labs.
from $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly
Visit 1st OptimalBig-brand polish and a smooth app, but currently oral enclomiphene only. Injectables expected in 2026.
from $99/mo on a 10-month plan paid upfront
Visit Hims1st Optimal vs Hims, side by side
| Feature | 1st Optimal | Hims |
|---|---|---|
| Our score | 8.1/10 | 6.1/10 |
| Starting price | $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly | $99/mo on a 10-month plan paid upfront |
| Treatment types | injections, peptides, comprehensive labs | oral (enclomiphene) |
| Best for | Best for Comprehensive Labs | Best Brand Name |
| Overall ranking | #2 | #33 |
| Price & Value (25%) | 7.5 | 7.0 |
| Clinical Oversight (25%) | 8.5 | 7.5 |
| Treatment Options (20%) | 8.0 | 5.5 |
| User Experience (15%) | 8.0 | 5.0 |
| Transparency (15%) | 8.5 | 4.0 |
Sources: 1st Optimal pricing verified on 1stoptimal.com, Hims pricing verified on hims.com
1st Optimal vs Hims: plans, price and what's included
Only 1st Optimal lists injections and peptides and comprehensive labs; only Hims lists oral (enclomiphene).
| 1st Optimal | Hims | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | from $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly | from $99/mo on a 10-month plan paid upfront |
| Plans it publishes | One published rate | One published rate |
| Commitment | 120-day minimum, billed monthly. (1stoptimal.com, read Oct 14, 2026) | Not read yet |
| Labs | Not stated by the clinic (1stoptimal.com, read Sep 11, 2026) | Not stated by the clinic (hims.com, read Sep 24, 2026) |
| What the price covers | Rate holds? Not stated | "From" price |
| First month | $169 | Not modeled |
| 12 months, no commitment | $2,028 | Not modeled |
| Cancelling | After 120 days, submit the membership change request form at least 7 days before the next billing date. Prescribed treatments and telemedicine services are not refunded. (1stoptimal.com, read Oct 14, 2026) | These are Hims's site-wide subscription terms: cancel at least two days before the renewal date; partly used periods are not refunded. (hims.com, read Oct 14, 2026) |
| Formats | injections, peptides, comprehensive labs | oral (enclomiphene) |
| States served | State list not on file | State list not on file |
First-month and 12-month figures come from our 12-month cost model, at each clinic's no-commitment rate. “About per year” for a prepaid plan is our arithmetic on the billing cycle the clinic prints.
Who should pick which
Pick 1st Optimal if
- you want injections or peptides or comprehensive labs, which Hims does not list
Pick Hims if
- you want oral (enclomiphene), which 1st Optimal does not list
Pros & cons
1st Optimal
Pros
- + Deep, context-rich lab work
- + Metabolic & thyroid screening
- + Peptide options available
Cons
- No criterion where it scores below Hims, and no state restrictions.
Hims
Pros
- + Recognized national brand
- + Excellent digital experience
Cons
- − Weaker on Transparency (4.0 vs 8.5/10)
- − Weaker on User Experience (5.0 vs 8.0/10)
- − Weaker on Treatment Options (5.5 vs 8.0/10)
The bottom line
After scoring all 39 clinics on our 5-criterion rubric (price & value, clinical oversight, treatment options, user experience and transparency), 1st Optimal (8.1/10) comes out ahead of Hims (6.1/10). But the right choice still depends on what matters most to you.
Choose 1st Optimal if you want best for comprehensive labs. From $169/mo with a 120-day minimum, billed monthly.
Visit 1st Optimal →Choose Hims if you want best brand name. From $99/mo on a 10-month plan paid upfront.
Visit Hims →Editor's overall pick
Not sold on either? Our highest-rated clinic overall is Male Excel (8.1/10), from $99/mo membership; medication billed on top. Read the review →
Ready to start TRT?
Our verdict for this matchup is 1st Optimal.
Related comparisons
Top picks
We email you when a price we track changes.
No spam, no daily digest. Just the clinics you're comparing, when their verified price moves.
How we score: every clinic is rated on five weighted criteria from documented evidence. Prices are checked weekly by an automated job against each clinic's live page; a price unconfirmed for 45 days is automatically relabeled “Last confirmed” instead of “Verified.” Scores are never influenced by affiliate commissions. “Pick the program” buttons are affiliate links that support our work. Educational information only. Not medical advice.