Is Peter MD legit? The short answer: yes, it appears to operate within legal boundaries for telehealth TRT in 2026. Licensed US physicians, real compounding pharmacy, real prescriptions. But it also carries among the most transparency red flags of any clinic in our 39-clinic database: no findable legal entity name, a removed Trustpilot profile, and broken compliance links on its own website. This is not a scam in the criminal sense. It is a clinically functional, value-oriented TRT provider that falls short on accountability infrastructure in ways you should know before signing up.
TRT Picks score: 7.5/10 · $79/mo on a 12-month plan billed upfront · $139/mo month to month · $99/mo advertised on gopetermd.com · Affiliate disclosure · Plan prices read at source 14 October 2026
Is Peter MD legit? What we verified
We checked Peter MD across five dimensions we use for every clinic in our database. Here is what the evidence shows:
| Verification point | Finding |
|---|---|
| Licensed US physicians | ✅ Yes. Stated on gopetermd.com; "US licensed physicians" |
| DEA-compliant telehealth | ✅ Compounded testosterone requires a valid prescription; Peter MD operates under the current DEA 4th Temporary Extension (through Dec 31, 2026) |
| FDA-regulated medications | ✅ Compounded testosterone cypionate from a licensed compounding pharmacy (503A). The standard model for telehealth TRT, not a red flag |
| Legal entity name | ❌ Not found. Its terms name only "PeterMD, 601 21st St., Suite 300, Vero Beach, FL 32960" and its BBB profile only "PeterMD": no LLC or Inc. name on any of its domains or in any terms document we could read (terms read 8 October 2026) |
| BBB record | ✅ A+, accredited since 9 August 2026: the Tulsa, OK "PeterMD" profile, which links getpetermd.com, with 22 complaints filed over 3 years, 12 of them in the last 12 months (read 12 October 2026). An older "F rating, Vero Beach FL" claim stays retracted: no such profile was found |
| Trustpilot profile | ❌ Primary profile for getpetermd.com shows "This profile has been removed"; a separate petermd.org profile shows 2.7/5 from 22 reviews (read 8 October 2026) |
| Terms & Conditions link | ❌ Routes through petermd.us to getpetermd.com's homepage, not any document (re-checked 22 October 2026) |
| HIPAA Compliance link | ❌ Same broken trail. Resolves to homepage (re-checked 22 October 2026) |
Verified September and October 2026 from gopetermd.com, getpetermd.com, BBB and Trustpilot.
Bottom line: No FDA warning letters, no documented regulatory actions, apparent compliance with telehealth prescribing law. But the transparency gaps above are real and confirmed, not guesses.
Peter MD pricing: three plan lengths, and a fourth rate on its own landing page
Peter MD prices TRT by plan length on getpetermd.com/mens-trt/: $79/month on a 12-month plan ($948 billed upfront), $109/month on a 6-month plan ($654 billed upfront) and $139/month on its monthly plan, all read 14 October 2026. Its landing page gopetermd.com advertises $99/month without naming a plan length (re-checked 22 October 2026). The 12-month and 6-month plans are billed upfront and can renew monthly after the term. Everything core is bundled into whichever plan you choose:
| Included in every plan | Status |
|---|---|
| Compounded testosterone cypionate, up to 200mg weekly | ✅ Included |
| All physician consults | ✅ Included |
| Supplies and shipping | ✅ Included |
| Aromatase inhibitor (if needed) | ✅ Included |
| Lab work | ❌ Billed separately. $340 first year, $115/year after |
The separate lab billing is the main hidden cost. Year-one real spend: approximately $1,288 on the 12-month plan ($948 + $340 labs), or $2,008 month to month ($139 × 12 + $340 labs).
Price-match guarantee: If you find a verified lower price at a competitor for a comparable protocol, Peter MD offers a 20% discount on your order. A meaningful differentiator against DudeMeds ($98 per 4 weeks on a 48-week supply, labs included) and MangoRx ($149/mo billed monthly, lab test included).
One flagged data point: a single secondhand account (sourced from petermd.org's Trustpilot reviews, not independently confirmed) described starting at $99/mo and later being charged $144, told $99 was introductory. Peter MD's own pricing pages, FAQ, and terms documents (the last of which is inaccessible from its own footer anyway) do not state explicitly whether the $99 landing rate is guaranteed ongoing or introductory. Its own product pages also disagree with its plan grid: the 6-month product page charges $714 for the plan the grid totals at $654, and the monthly product page charges the first two months together. That the brand publishes a $99 landing figure beside a $79 to $139 plan grid is first-party support for the same concern. This is not confirmed as policy. But worth knowing.
Is Peter MD safe? Clinical and medical standards
Peter MD prescribes compounded testosterone cypionate. The same type of compounded injectable prescribed by nearly all TRT telehealth clinics in the US. Compounded drugs are prepared by licensed 503A pharmacies, not FDA-approved as finished products, but they are the industry standard for telehealth TRT and operate within legal and regulatory frameworks. Is Peter MD legit on the clinical side? By this standard, yes. It follows the same prescribing model as most peers.
Peter MD's clinical model is straightforward:
- Intake intake form + blood panel (labs ordered by Peter MD, billed separately)
- Consult with a US-licensed physician within 24 hours of onboarding
- Individualized protocol ("no cookie-cutter protocols" per their site)
- Follow-up monitoring every 3–6 months (standard of care for TRT)
What Peter MD does not appear to offer, based on its website: a deep-dive multi-biomarker panel. HCG and sermorelin are sold separately rather than bundled: HCG at $147 a vial (5000iu, which Peter MD says typically lasts about five months) and sermorelin from $585 for three months. Enclomiphene is also sold on its own, at $278 for a 2-month plan billed every 2 months. That keeps the base plan efficient and affordable, and puts the cost of a more complex protocol on separate line items.
Available in: All US states except Alabama and Idaho.
Is Peter MD legit compared to alternatives?
| Peter MD | DudeMeds | Male Excel | MangoRx | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TRT Picks score | 7.5/10 | 7.2/10 | 8.1/10 | 7.6/10 |
| Monthly cost | $79/mo on a 12-month plan · $139/mo month to month | $98 per 4 weeks on a 48-week supply ($1,176), labs included · $345 for 12 weeks | $99/mo membership + medication (cream from $132/mo) | $149/mo, billed monthly |
| Pricing model | All-inclusive* | Tiered kits | Membership + meds | All-inclusive |
| Labs included | ❌ Separate | ❌ Separate, or a higher-priced kit that adds them | ✅ Ongoing panel; first labs not stated | ✅ Yes |
| Delivery method | Injectable, oral enclomiphene | Injectable, oral enclomiphene | Cream (needle-free), injectable, clomiphene | Injectable + oral FDA |
| Transparency score | 5.0/10 | 6.5/10 | 8.0/10 | 6.5/10 |
| Legal entity | ❌ Not found | ✅ On file | ✅ On file | ✅ On file |
*Labs billed separately at Peter MD.
If price is the only factor: Peter MD at $79/mo on a 12-month plan has the lower starting price, but it bills labs separately, while DudeMeds ($98 per 4 weeks, $1,176 for 48 weeks) includes a lab panel, so compare year-one totals rather than headlines. If you want needle-free delivery: Male Excel (compounded cream, daily microdosing, no injection required). If you want an FDA-approved oral option: MangoRx PRIME (Kyzatrex oral capsule).
See also: Peter MD vs DudeMeds → | Male Excel vs Peter MD → | Ageless vs Peter MD →
The transparency red flags, explained
These are the specific concerns that dropped Peter MD's transparency score to 5.0/10:
1. Four domains, zero disclosed relationship
Peter MD operates across gopetermd.com (its landing page), getpetermd.com (its plan and pricing pages, and the domain its BBB profile links), petermd.org (separate Trustpilot profile, 2.7/5) and petermd.us (stub redirect). No site explains what these are or how they relate. No legal entity name appears on any of them.
2. Broken compliance links
The "Terms and Conditions" link from gopetermd.com redirects through petermd.us to getpetermd.com's homepage. Not any terms document. The "HIPAA Compliance" link in the footer does the same thing. These are not minor oversights; they are foundational legal documents inaccessible through the clinic's own navigation.
3. Trustpilot profile removed
Peter MD's primary Trustpilot profile (for getpetermd.com) shows "This profile has been removed". A separate active profile exists at petermd.org. 2.7/5 from 22 reviews, with reviews describing non-delivery and billing issues. We cannot fully evaluate Trustpilot sentiment for this clinic the way we can for competitors.
None of these concerns involve FDA letters or documented illegal activity. They are operational and administrative red flags. Whether they matter to you depends on how much weight you put on institutional accountability vs. day-to-day clinical function. Is Peter MD legit despite these gaps? Clinically yes. Administratively, it is the weakest in its price tier.
Is Peter MD legit enough to recommend? Verdict
Get Peter MD if:
- You want a low fixed rate, $79/mo on a 12-month plan billed upfront, with a price-match guarantee
- You're OK billing labs separately ($340 year one)
- You want injectable testosterone or oral enclomiphene
- You live outside Alabama or Idaho
- You're comfortable with a value-oriented clinic that operates efficiently, not comprehensively
Skip Peter MD if:
- Institutional transparency matters to you. No legal entity name, no terms document reachable from its own footer, removed Trustpilot profile
- You want labs fully bundled (neither Peter MD nor DudeMeds' base kit includes them. See which clinics do on our price transparency page)
- You need multi-biomarker panels, or want HCG and peptides bundled into one price rather than bought separately
- You want needle-free delivery without oral meds (Male Excel cream is the better fit)
Visit Peter MD →{.cta-primary}
Affiliate disclosure: TRT Picks earns a commission if you start a Peter MD plan through our link. Commission does not affect scores. See our editorial policy.
Frequently asked questions
Is Peter MD a real doctor service?
Yes. Is Peter MD legit as a medical operation? Yes. Peter MD employs US-licensed physicians who evaluate your blood work and prescribe compounded testosterone when clinically appropriate. It is a legitimate telehealth TRT service, not an online supplement retailer. The transparency gaps we document (missing legal entity, broken compliance links) are administrative failures, not signs of a fake medical operation.
What does a Peter MD plan actually include?
Every plan covers compounded testosterone cypionate (up to 200mg weekly), an aromatase inhibitor if needed, supplies and shipping, and all physician consults. Lab work is billed separately: $340 in year one, and $115/year after. Year-one total is approximately $1,288 on the 12-month plan and $2,008 month to month.
Is Peter MD available in my state?
Peter MD is available in 48 US states. It does not prescribe TRT in Alabama or Idaho due to state-specific telehealth regulations.
Why was Peter MD's Trustpilot removed?
Peter MD's primary Trustpilot profile shows "This profile has been removed". Trustpilot does not disclose the specific reason publicly. A separate profile exists at petermd.org: 22 reviews, 2.7/5 average (read 8 October 2026).
What is Peter MD's price-match guarantee?
If you find a verified lower competitor price for a comparable TRT protocol, Peter MD offers a 20% discount on your order. This is the closest thing to a coupon or discount code the clinic advertises.
Does Peter MD take insurance?
Peter MD says its "services, products, and medications are not covered by health insurance" and that it accepts HSA/FSA cards at checkout (FAQ on getpetermd.com, read 27 September 2026). Lab work may be partially reimbursable through HSA/FSA accounts as a qualifying medical expense. Check your plan documentation.
How does Peter MD compare to DudeMeds?
DudeMeds charges $1,176 for a 48-week injectable supply with a lab panel included ($98 per 4 weeks), or about $1,274 for a full 52 weeks at that rate. Peter MD charges $79/mo on a 12-month plan ($139 month to month) with labs separate. Year-one real cost is roughly $1,288 on the 12-month plan, $2,008 month to month. The two are close on the long terms, and both name injectable testosterone and oral enclomiphene on their own pages. See the full breakdown: Peter MD vs DudeMeds →.



